top of page

The Start Of Our Story


Sometimes the best ideas are the ones that you never thought possible or dared to say them out loud.

Back in early May we had just finished watching the latest episode of HGTV's Fixer Upper with Chip & Joanna Gaines as we do every week without fail.

In a world with so much negativity in the TV and in our day to day lives I found a happy place with our Fixer Upper nights & indulging in the Magnolia Journal and now their book. There is something about the two of them that brings happy to the heart.

Being a part of someones story is such a special place to be and that is definitely something that we always knew that we wanted to do for others. The more we researched the couple and came to learn about the Magnolia Home Line and the idea was sparked. Finally items out there that spoke to us as people and also on a design level.

We always talked about opening a second store however what it would look like and how it would feel really had never come to the forefront until that evening. We wanted to bring the same happy hearts feeling into our store that so many have every time they watched Chip & Joanna on TV or saw that special Magnolia piece in their home.

For us it is about sharing something authentic much like Chip and Joanna did for us for the last five years for us watching and for the folks that had them create their new homes. It is enlightening and refreshing when surrounding yourself with a happy place and with happy people. This is what we wanted to Urban Silo Market to be. But what would it " look" like, how would it "work" and would people truly love it as much as we do?

I sat and pondered these questions and looked around the house at all the Magnolia decor items that made me smile anytime I stopped and enjoyed what they meant to me. It didn't matter if it was my wreath or the blanket ladder they all stirred that same happiness in my heart. To me they all stood for our own authentic self and what is simple, real and beautiful in ourselves.

"Babe, we should open up a Magnolia Market here in Arizona. I wonder if they would license or franchise. Can you imagine....." The conversation sat one sided as I told Brian how I would decorate the store and what I would want to cary and how it would bring the Gaine's love to Arizona.

So for those of you who don't know Brian, he is the realist in the relationship. He is the one that needs to see the paperwork, numbers and black and white. Me, well I am in my own world with my "White Board" ideas. So together with him encouraging me all the way aligning details to make our next idea work we just make it happen.

He encouraged me to check to see if it was even a possibility. Not knowing where to start on that evening I drafted an email and sent it to PR contact asking who I should speak to. I went to bed that night thinking of what could be in my own little shop! Keep in mind we already have a Luxury Bamboo Boutique with Bedding, Bath & clothing items that had just passed its first year of being opened and here I was actively looking into another business opportunity.

Long story short I received an email back from the team with the instructions to apply for a license to sell the Magnolia Home Furniture lines. (And No they do not Franchise and Urban Silo Market is not owned by Chip & Joanna, it is owned by Brian and I.) There we were gathering our information, lining up vendor applications of local products that would go well with all of the love we want to cary from the Magnolia Home Furniture Line & Accessories. I am so thankful and blessed that I spoke my idea out loud and that I have a partner who believes in me, my white board ideas and us! So, that is how our little story started and how we started another adventure and added to our always extraordinary normal.

And here we are, doors open, and sharing the shiplap love with likeminded friends!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page